The Rockefeller Archive Center
Search the RAC Web Site
Home | FAQs | Links | E-Mail
About Us Research Grants Collections Publications The Rockefellers Search Our Collections
General Guides and Subject Surveys
Printer-Friendly Version Printer-Friendly Version


The staff of the Archive Center has prepared a number of descriptive guides and subject surveys as introductions to the Center's holdings. Surveys include box and folder listings for several collections within a subject area. The following publications are available: FOUNDATION ARCHIVES

Darwin H. Stapleton and Kenneth W. Rose, eds. Establishing Foundation Archives: A Reader and Guide to First Steps (Washington, D.C.: Council on Foundations, 1991). Contains papers presented at the January 1990 conference on foundation archives, with additional essays by the Center's archivists offering advice on beginning archival practice.

MICROFORM COLLECTIONS

The Center seeks to expand access to its materials by making certain portions of the records commercially available to libraries and research institutions on microfilm or microfiche. Royalties from the purchase of these microforms go directly to the support of the Center's grant-in-aid program. The following microform editions have been published:
    The Laura Spelman Rockefeller Memorial Collection: Series III: Appropriations. (Wilmington, Delaware: Scholarly Resources Inc., 1998).

    The General Education Board Archives: Series 1: Appropriations, Subseries 3: New Southern and Related Programs, 1931-1961 (Scholarly Resources, Inc., 1997).

    The General Education Board Archives: The Early Southern Programs (Scholarly Resources, Inc., 1994).

    The Rockefeller Foundation Archives, Record Group 1.1 (Projects): Series 600 (Asia) and Series 601(China) (Scholarly Resources, Inc., 1994).

    Papers of John D. Rockefeller, Sr. Part 1: Business Correspondence; Part 2: Business Investments Correspondence; Part 3: Office Correspondence; Part IV: Index to the John D. Rockefeller Letterbooks at the Rockefeller Archive Center (Bethesda, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1992. Purchase through LexisNexis).

    The Russell Sage Foundation: Social Research and Social Action in America, 1907-1947 (UPA Academic Editions, an imprint of Congressional Information Service, Inc., 1988. Purchase through LexisNexis).

    The Bureau of Social Hygiene Project and Research Files (Scholarly Resources, Inc., 1980).

Did you know...

The Rockefeller University, established in 1901 as the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, was the first institution in the United States devoted solely to biomedical researcb – to understanding the underlying causes of disease.